Scientific Advisory Group

Please find detailed information on the scientific experts of the MeerWissen Community here

The MeerWissen secretariat is supported by a group of scientists with expertise in the field of marine and coastal biodiversity at the science-policy interface. The scientific experts co-evaluate the project ideas and advise the secretariat on strategic and scientific questions arising within the initiative. Furthermore, they are part of the MeerWissen community and accompany activities beyond and between partnership projects.

Dr Annette Breckwoldt

Leibniz Centre for Tropical Marine Research (ZMT), Bremen, Germany

Dr Betsy Beymer-Farris

University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Prof Mark John Costello

Nord University, Bodo, Norway

Prof Gotthilf Hempel

Emeritus, Germany

Dr Damien Troy Maher

Southern Cross University, Lismore, Australia

Dr Craig John Starger

US Government Accountability Office, Colorado, United States

Prof Dr Martin Visbeck

GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel and Kiel University, Germany

Prof Douglas Wallace

Dalhousie University, Nova Scotia, Canada

Dr Frederick Gilbert Whoriskey

Ocean Tracking Network, Dalhousie University, Nova Scotia, Canada

Prof Antonio Carlos Marques

University of Sao Paulo, Brazil

Prof Peter Simon Liss

University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK

Venugopalan Ittekkot

Retired, Hamburg, Germany

Dr Werner Ekau

Leibniz Centre for Tropical Marine Research (ZMT), Bremen, Germany

Dr Wiebren Johannes Boonstra

Uppsala University, Sweden

Dr Yvonne Sawall

Bermuda Institute of Ocean Sciences (BIOS), Saint George’s, Bermuda